Farewell, My Super-Intern

Google defines an intern as ‘a student or trainee who works, sometimes without pay, in order to gain work experience or satisfy requirements for a qualification.’

But seriously, we all know what an intern really does:

via clicktrue.biz

Like many, I have been an intern in a couple of organizations before I scored my first real job.  And in my first real job, I of course got my first intern as well.  The intern that I constantly compare to myself when I was an intern, the one that I thought I could torment like how so many others have tormented me when I was one.

But no!  This intern that I had, my very first one, was not just an intern, he was a super-intern!

via wallpicsize.com

He is super because he was pro-active and responsible, and even surpassed my other full-time colleagues at times.  He was calm and cool-headed, and never failed to meet my expectations.

via lastnightmakeup.wordpress.com

Alas, as the saying goes, ‘all good things must come to an end’, and so did the internship of my super-intern.  And no, staying on in this hellhole of a job was clearly not his aspiration.

It’s been almost five years since he’s left my organization to pursue other internships, enjoying life, and he’s finally decided to go back to school in some far away continent to pursue his dreams.  So, it’s time to say adieu and I have written a short note just to let him know how awesome he was as an intern and now as a friend.

Dear Super-Intern

It’s almost half a decade since the day you started working under me.  You were unlike any other intern that I ever met, unlike even the intern that I was.

You are smart, mature, funny and sarcastic (in a very good way) all at the same time.  And who could ever forget the time that you asked my full-time colleague whether you were the intern or the full-time staff for helping her make all those decisions!!

Despite me being as much as a noob then, I really do hope that your time spent with me was not wasted (hey, I do not want to be known as the internship that was a waste of your time, lol).

We may not have kept in very close contact over the last few years but even I could tell that you have matured very much from a boy to a man.  And I am truly proud of having you as my friend now.

I wish you all the very best in your studies.  Don’t study too hard as this will definitely be the best years of your life (take it from my experience).  And don’t you ever dare forget me!!

xoxo

:)))

Leave a Reply

